Finally... the Rock Hall - Reisverslag uit Cleveland, Verenigde Staten van Kitty Boersma - WaarBenJij.nu Finally... the Rock Hall - Reisverslag uit Cleveland, Verenigde Staten van Kitty Boersma - WaarBenJij.nu

Finally... the Rock Hall

Door: Kitty

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Kitty

19 Oktober 2014 | Verenigde Staten, Cleveland

Today, we could also sleep in a little, which was nice. I got up first to take a shower and be ready by the time I would Skype with my parents. It was nice to talk to them. However, I'm very jealous of the Dutch weather right now! It's freezing out here!
In the morning, Linda dropped me off at Walmart, so I had all the time in the world to look around. And it was huge! That store has literally everything! I'm so glad I'm not working there... So I got some presents for my friends, and even saw a Dutch family walk by.
I had lunch on a bench in front of the Rock&Roll Hall of Fame. Then I went in. My ticket cost eighteen dollar, but it was worth it. When I walked in the building, it amazed me. As on the outside, thee Rock Hall looks like a giant pyramid of dark glass, but from the inside it looks like it has one glass (diagonal) wall. It is hard to describe, but it was breathtaking. The extraordinary building added to the overall feeling of the museum. The exhibitions started in the basement. There they started with the history of rock 'n roll, and some well-known artists (like Elvis, the Beatles and the Rolling Stones) were highlighted. Then, and escalator took you to what felt like the third floor. There were more exhibitions. For example a piece on how 'Video killed the radio star', about the influence of the introduction of MTV. Even further upstairs was a part about the artists that were added to the Hall of Fame in 2013, and a movie about all the artists in the Hall of Fame. You could walk along the wall with all the signatures (of hall of Fame artists) light up. It was beautifully done. On the highest two floors was a part about the 'Festival Feeling', how festivals influence your experience of music and how they originate. Unfortunately, I didn't have a lot of time left, so I had to do this part quickly. Even though, it was awesome. I went all the was down again, and ended up in the Store of the museum. I wanted to buy a shirt or something like that, but I didn't have time to look at them. It is however one of the greatest museum shops I have ever seen! And although I didn't have time to look at the shirts, I did buy Nevermind by Nirvana, and a refrigerator magnet of the Rock Hall.
Before we went home, we stopped in one of the Metro Parks. As it is Fall, everything looks very beautiful around here. All the threes are changing colour (they vary from light or dark green to a vibrant red, orange, yellow, gold or somewhere in between). It makes me wanna drink a warm cup of tea (of hot chocolate), eat cookies and read a book in front of a warm and cozy fire place. Anyway, we went up some stairs to this great viewing point. And as you can imagine, the view was really great!
At home, we had dinner, with donuts as dessert. I would like this every day, but sadly I would get fat... Well, I guess that's life.

Tags: Kitty, USA, Rock

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Kitty

Actief sinds 27 Sept. 2014
Verslag gelezen: 145
Totaal aantal bezoekers 4770

Voorgaande reizen:

11 Oktober 2014 - 26 Oktober 2014

USA!

Landen bezocht: